ABRSM offers diplomas in three disciplines:
1.Music direction ( Conductor)
2.Music Performance
3.Instrumental/Vocal teaching

For each discipline there are three levels of award:

1.    DipABRSM : Diploma of the Associated Board of The Royal Schools of Music
2.    LRSM : Licentiate of The Royal Schools of Music
3.    FRSM : Fellowship of The Royal Schools of Music

These diplomas are recognized as equivalent to music universities in England.

DipABRSM : University 1st Year
LRSM : B.A Degree Diploma
FRSM : Masters Degree Diploma

The accreditation institution OFQUAL has determined the credits awarded to each grade of the exams. This information may be found at : www.ofqual.gov.uk.


The diplomas are   DipABRSM,  LRSM  and FRSM, in this order. In order to take the  DipABRSM exam, the candidate must have passed the  8. th grade  Practical Exam. Each diploma is a prerequisite of the next. Candidates who are attending or who have graduated from conservatories and other music universities can send their transcripts to England when applying for a diploma exam. They will then be notified which type of diploma they will be granted without having to take the 8 grades of the Practical exam.